lovaliss's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mashed potatoes and gravy and the soup kitchen

Today at the, soup kitchen I remembered how crazy some of the people are.

One man muttered to me in a tone that gave no recognition he was speaking to me, "You look like Molly Ringwald." (sp?) But what I heard was, "You look like Molly Dean." But how did he know Molly Dean from elementary school? Of course I only heard it after he said it so as he was saying it I was nodding and smily encouragingly because I had NO idea what he was saying. AND then I realized he didn't say Molly Dean, he said, "You look like a complacent baby." Just kidding, but the thought of a complacent baby made me smile really big and suscipcious like and nobody was around when I was smiling so big which made it weird.

Molly Dean aka Gravy.

Molly Dean lived on Molly Lane, really.

When I was in 1st grade I used to taunt Molly Dean and her best friend Shannon at recess and on the bus.

"Kindergarten baby born in gravy."

Her best friend Shannon had white blonde hair...we called her Mashed Potatoes for years and Molly, Gravy. Last time I saw Mashed Potatoes she was gothic. I was in high school and had stopped paying attention to her until she rode the bus one day. She had black rimmed eyes and black Jinco's. It's always surprising to see this, seeing how I can remember a little blonde girl with glasses and curly hair. Now she's a supposed social deviant. I wonder what Mashed Potatoes is doing now.

Another weird thing that happened at the soup kitchen:

A tall blonde man that looks like the guy from Big Wednesday...Gary? something...walks into the soup kitchen and says in response to my good morning,
"Good morning for me but not for you I guess it's fun to cook breakfast for yourself sometimes...and a billion other people are you on the atkins diet do you get to sit down and eat with us I'd sit down and eat with us if I were you but I guess you've got to watch what you eat I'm on a diet look at this I'm going to be huge soon." He then flexes his arm muscle. He never stopped talking or paused really he just kept on talking. And he smiles all the time, not in a warm endearing way but in an involuntary way, as if somebody is always saying really funny things over his shoulder. He smiles like he's a ten year old in school trying not to smile...but he can't help it he always ends up smiling and thus never makes eye contact, just smiles.

He got into an arguement with another man there. The man told Smiley that he was mentally unstable. Smiley said, "No you're not, don't say that."

"Yes I am. I stopped taking my meds and that's why I'm here now. I am. I really am."

"Those meds are bad! Don't take that stuff. That's bad. It makes you like this..." Smiley stands up and rocks back and forth like a zombie while smiling that weird smile the whole time.

The mentally unstable man didn't pay attention so Smiley kept repeating,
"It makes you like this...do you look like this..."

A very old man with a very long beard came for his first time today. He has a walker with two tennis balls on the legs. He was the last one to leave and we talked as I swept the floor. He said he'd be back and Barbara, who lives in her car, said, "There's no reason why you shouldn't have three meals a day, you come back for lunch." Barbara always wears a big straw sun hat and lots of pendant necklaces. She is overweight and always wears green velvet stretch pants. She is great.

Brenda, this shift manager saw the very old man with his hands on the bench and his leg in the air, shaking it out. He told me he had better stretch before he tried to walk. Brenda only saw him kicking his leg in the air like a dog and looked from him to me and muttered, "All sorts." as she walked by. The man stretched for close to 5 minutes at one point swinging his arms in front of him and wrapping them around so that they clapped his back. His arms looked fake when he swung them like that. The sound of them hitting his body made a weird thud. His hips are uneven so he walks with a jibe.

I thought about Greg while I was there because I'm certain a lot of these people have schizophrenia. I missed Greg a lot and wondered why he went away. For some reason it feels like I can't contact him, it's like he left us and if he wants to be contacted then he'll come back or call.

I also noticed a lot of people were on speed today at the soup kitchen, there was a lot of twitching and hard blinking.

5:02 p.m. - 2005-05-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

adelie
miobravo
skinny2234
dalinography
sevenflowers
troymccool
cannet
chrisalmond
madre-teresa
freightcars
boysordeath
hold-it
nomadmak
automatos
msea
jjquick
uberbane
thatplace
acadiana
thegorbott
mymess
asyourghost
suffa-kate
passthison
toomchstarch
gregcaldwell
panzuda
nations
helian
isabellajan
whitepants
blindhacker
elledyal
virtu
luityler
kindbowser
kindbegger
gigihodges
fuckbowser
jpop
saint-erin
ellamae
paperfriend