lovaliss's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm gonna go.

I am ready to leave.

I give in.

It's just a year and a half.

I'm going to try harder at this than anything I've ever done. Some people, maybe the majority of our friends don't see missions as anything that great to talk about. But I've waited for this since I was 9 years old, I think it's GREAT! I care about this a lot. I have given up so much just to make it on a mission, which the sacrifice took 2 years of pre-planning. This is not a light thing to me, never has been, and never will be. It's interesting how we all place different prices on these things.

Goals:

1) Be serious, when serious is needed, be hysterical when needed.
(Take it seriously...but not take myself too seriously.)

2) Have good work-ethic. Do my very best to make use of my time, but don't obsess over numbers and determine my success or failure as a missionary based on that.

3) Stay exactly who I am and don't feel pressure to alter my personality to be "the good/best missionary".

4) Follow the rules, but not obsessively.

5) Give respect to those that have a stewardship over me, but don't ever feel like I can't stick up for myself or say what I want to say, respectfully :)

6) Build friendships with the Elder's so that I have their help, not their disdain. That means not nagging them or talking down to them, but look for their strengths and be very, very patient.

Sharon came to my farwell today, I got to introduce her to all of my family and show her everything and she loved it all. It felt like I connected two huge parts of my life and they fit perfectly. I'm so glad she came.

9:12 p.m. - 2005-07-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

adelie
miobravo
skinny2234
dalinography
sevenflowers
troymccool
cannet
chrisalmond
madre-teresa
freightcars
boysordeath
hold-it
nomadmak
automatos
msea
jjquick
uberbane
thatplace
acadiana
thegorbott
mymess
asyourghost
suffa-kate
passthison
toomchstarch
gregcaldwell
panzuda
nations
helian
isabellajan
whitepants
blindhacker
elledyal
virtu
luityler
kindbowser
kindbegger
gigihodges
fuckbowser
jpop
saint-erin
ellamae
paperfriend