lovaliss's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

swimming summer solstace

I love jumping into the pool when it's as hot as it was today. I licked my lips and they tasted like salt.

I have never been that good at holding my breath under water or keeping the water out of my nose. I'm one of those people that still jumps in the water with my hand on my nose. I always feel a little bit like a baby when I do this and always hope that nobody is watching me.

Kari was already in the pool when me and Gigi walked up. Kari was the only one in the pool and I noticed her smile, red cheeks, and when I looked closer, her freckles across the bridge of her nose. I really love Kari's laugh because it always sounds the same, high pitched and hearty all at once, also very unihibited but not abrasive...it's a wonderful laugh.

Gigi tried to teach me pool tricks and I thought about how all little girls in Florida must learn tricks like this growing up. Gigi went down in the water while letting all the air out of her lungs so she would stay down there. I looked down at her floating face-up deep in the water and we made eye contact. Her hair was billowing out from her face and she really looked like an enchanting mermaid down there. I often think she is the most beautiful looking friend I have ever had. I am always amazed at her beauty. Every little girl growing up in WY dreams about having a pool in their back yard that they can swim in every day, Gigi lived the childhood I always dreamed of...from the pool tricks this is evident.

Gigi got out and stood under the shower head off to the side of the pool and shouted, "It's really hot! I just peed!" I laughed so hard that I stood up on the last step of the pool and then let myself fall backwards into the water. When I came up Kari was grinning at me and said, "Pretty awesome!" in a joking sincere voice.

Swimming brought out the little girl's in all of us...thus the "look at me! pool tricks" and the mermaid impressions.

Kris found a little bee on the side of the pool and stuck his finger out. It crawled onto his finger as he talked to it in his deep voice.

I said, "What if it stings you!?"

"He won't sting me," he replied calmly, completely unafraid.

It was one of those acts that as a little girl leaves you so amazed by their courage and bravery...I'm 20 years and 362 days old and I still was impressed just as much as a five year old Alissa would have been.

Gigi stood under the shower so long that Kari didn't want to wait so she squished in also, I got out and stood under there too. We cupped our hands together until they filled with water and we threw them on ourselves in one big splat.

We went to the Bajio Grill and I said, "I still smell like chlorine," as I smelled my arm in the line.

"Lick your skin and then smell it, you can always tell then...isn't that weird?" Gigi said.

I licked my arm and sniffed it...chlorine.

It was 100 degrees today.

11:36 p.m. - 2005-07-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

adelie
miobravo
skinny2234
dalinography
sevenflowers
troymccool
cannet
chrisalmond
madre-teresa
freightcars
boysordeath
hold-it
nomadmak
automatos
msea
jjquick
uberbane
thatplace
acadiana
thegorbott
mymess
asyourghost
suffa-kate
passthison
toomchstarch
gregcaldwell
panzuda
nations
helian
isabellajan
whitepants
blindhacker
elledyal
virtu
luityler
kindbowser
kindbegger
gigihodges
fuckbowser
jpop
saint-erin
ellamae
paperfriend