lovaliss's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wy horse ride

My mom convinced me and my sister to go on a horse ride with her.

I was suddenly back in my childhood again, in the fields where we played Cowboy's and Indian's with my Aunt on our horses. It is sooo green here right now. We rode past my old secret hill that I used to sit on top of when I was mad at my mom. On that hill there was a hawk I had named Ethan, I always saw him when I was there.

Quakie Aspens are thick and intermixed wtih pine trees. It's not flat, but more so the neon green hills blend into what suddenly become mountains that from a distance almost look blue-ish with all the pine trees thick like they are. There are sporatic patches of yellow wildflowers here and there.

I used to take my horse behind our house to the mountains and as soon as I was out of sight I would break into a run. My mom always told me not to run my horse across the fields because for one it would trample the alfalfa, and two if the horse stepped into a gopher hole it could break it's leg. I ran anyways, as fast and as long as he would go.

I ran my horse across those fields and up the hill tonight and remembered my childhood. Wyoming is so pretty, I wish I could describe it better.

Along the path there is what we call "The Tunnel of Trees". All of the trees on both sides for some reason grew curving inward. It's magical looking because you enter into it and look up to see green leaves and a little bit of blue sky, you come out on the other side and the mountain looms there. When I spent too much time in the mountains, it would be almost dark by the time I rode home. Going back through the tunnel of trees alone was always kind of creepy, especially because the deer would be out nibbling at the more tender foilage near the road, they'd always jump and spook the horse. I'd always imagine I saw eyes looking out at me from the bushes.

I forget all of these things about Wyoming.

As you ride on the path lined with trees there are choke cherry and service berries. They're thick in August and you can reach up and pick them as you ride. They're kind of a dark purple in color and the seeds are really annoying, but they're so good.

Me and my sister are going to sleep on our trampoline tonight. It's cold but we're going to pile on the blankets. When you wake up in the middle of the night the stars are amazing. They are plastered across the sky so thick and heavy that it feels like they're inches from your face and that your body is levitating up to them, I promise you've never seen anything like it.

All of these things are deeply a part of me. I bet it's hard to imagine that. I wonder who will get all of these things about me...who will know me for my competance but also for that country girl that is hidden in me. I show it sometimes, maybe by my insitance to do things for myself, but I think in other ways too.

9:01 p.m. - 2005-05-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

adelie
miobravo
skinny2234
dalinography
sevenflowers
troymccool
cannet
chrisalmond
madre-teresa
freightcars
boysordeath
hold-it
nomadmak
automatos
msea
jjquick
uberbane
thatplace
acadiana
thegorbott
mymess
asyourghost
suffa-kate
passthison
toomchstarch
gregcaldwell
panzuda
nations
helian
isabellajan
whitepants
blindhacker
elledyal
virtu
luityler
kindbowser
kindbegger
gigihodges
fuckbowser
jpop
saint-erin
ellamae
paperfriend