lovaliss's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

jerky and nuns

I came to WY today. I went to the high school graduation because my cousin was graduating.

I ducked my head the majority of the time and only when somebody recognized me or caught me did I then say hello and ask what they were up to nowadays.

I accidently got caught and ended up talking to one of the two serious high school boyfriends I had. Except for this was the one I was once very in love with.

This is the first time we have talked in over 4 years. One of which we just weren't speaking and 3 of which I just haven't seen him enough or close up enough to have a conversation.

He accidently sat right next to me. I was on the other side of his sisters and he slipped across them to quietly slide into the seat beside them only to his surprise to find me sitting there with just enough room for him to squeeze in. He greeted me warmly, which to my surprise made my heart rate pick up. That surprised me more than anything.

As we talked I looked at his eyes up close for the first time in years and suddenly a flood of memories came back.

I was convinced I did not care about him at all anymore, that any love feelings I had ever felt for him were just childish mistakes, but a twinge of something jumped inside of me tonight and I could at least see a little bit why I used to feel so much over him.

I remembered the part of Devin that is good and beautiful, I forgot about those parts of him in all this time.

Even though I think he looks like white trash, up close I remembered how attractive he is.

We both got through our list of questions that start out with "where are you at now?" and then kind of sat there next to each other awkardly wondering what to do next. I kept crossing and uncrossing my legs, he kept biting his nails. I wanted to say more, but had nothing to say...so we just parted with smiles and nods both a little relieved to escape the other.

I thought I saw a nun sitting down by the river today...first of all, there are no nuns in Star Valley, and second of all just the picture of a nun sitting out by the river bank in the middle of nowhere was funny to me. It was not a nun, it was a tree stump. But I sniffed my fingers at that exact moment and they smelled like jerky.

Jerky and nuns.

I did however see an Orthodox Jew at graduation. This is the first time in my entire life I have seen or known of a Jew to live in Star Valley. I wonder where he came from and how long he's been here. Any sort of ethnic or religious variety is a complete novelty. I liked it.

11:39 p.m. - 2005-05-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

adelie
miobravo
skinny2234
dalinography
sevenflowers
troymccool
cannet
chrisalmond
madre-teresa
freightcars
boysordeath
hold-it
nomadmak
automatos
msea
jjquick
uberbane
thatplace
acadiana
thegorbott
mymess
asyourghost
suffa-kate
passthison
toomchstarch
gregcaldwell
panzuda
nations
helian
isabellajan
whitepants
blindhacker
elledyal
virtu
luityler
kindbowser
kindbegger
gigihodges
fuckbowser
jpop
saint-erin
ellamae
paperfriend